Blog: Game Lodge

Big 5 safari sightings 17 until 23 May 2015

Sunday 17 May 2015 2 White rhino bulls 1 Male leopard ( Watsakile ) at Mañana rd A herd of 250 buffaloes at Nyari dam Monday 18 May 2015 2 White rhino bulls 5 Elephant bulls at Impala dam A female leopard at Nonwane A lion and lioness near Billy’s lodge Tuesday 19 May 2015 […]


Big 5 safari sightings 10 until 16 May 2015

Sunday 10 May 2015 A herd of 20 elephants at Nsuna rd 1 Male lion at Pondoro Main rd A male leopard, Watsakile, at Pondoro Main rd 2 Young male lions at Nkhorho rd Monday 11 May 2015 A herd of 100 buffaloes at Kudu rd 1 Male lion at Nkombe north A herd of […]


Big 5 safari sightings 29 March until 4 April 2015

Sunday 29 March 2015 6 Lions at Derde weg A herd of 60 buffaloes at Chavaluthu rd A breeding herd of 20 elephants at Xidulu rd with a cow giving birth A herd of 250 buffaloes at Mangwa clearing Monday 30 March 2015 Elephant cow and 1 day old calf at Tranken weg An elephant […]


Big 5 safari sightings 15 until 21 March 2015

Sunday 15 March 2015 Mohlabetsi lion pride, 3 lionesses and 7 cubs at Mohlabetsi/Hearne cutline A herd of 200 buffaloes at 4/5 cutline Monday 16 March 2015 No safari drive Tuesday 17 March 2015 3 Lionesses and 10 cubs at Derde weg 3 Elephant bulls at Mañana rd Wednesday 18 March 2015 A male lion […]


Big 5 safari sightings 22 until 28 February 2015

Sunday 22 February 2015 6 Lions at Riverine west 3 Buffalo bulls at Ngala dam A herd of 200 buffaloes at Marula loop A cheetah at Duke’s clearing An elephant bull at Robbie’s dam Monday 23 February 2015 A herd of 250 buffaloes at Kudu road A male leopard ( Chavaluthu ) at Waterkant rd […]


Leopard during Pondoro safari

A video taken a while ago of a young male walking past our safari cruiser. Leopards are solitary and extremely secretive making them the most difficult of the Big 5 to find. In a weird way their solitary nature also makes them more confident as they are used to facing dangers on their own. This […]


Big 5 safari sightings 28 July until 3 August 2013

Sunday 28 July 2013 A breeding herd of 16 elephants feeding close to1/2 cutline 3 Lionesses walking past Peter’s Rock A breeding herd of 20 elephants feeding on 2/3 cutline A male leopard ( Chavaluthu ) drinking at Van Wyk 1 Black rhino bull 2 White rhinos drinking A breeding herd of 20 elephants feeding […]


Big 5 safari sightings 9 – 15 June 2013

Sunday 9 June 2013 A breeding herd of about 15 elephants feeding close to Main rd east A group of 7 elephants drinking at Gunter’s reservoir Monday 10 June 2013 2 Male lions feeding on a zebra kill next to Pondoro main rd Tuesday 11 June 2013 2 Male lions feeding on a zebra kill […]


Big 5 safari sightings 2 – 8 June 2013

Sunday 2 June 2013 A breeding herd of 20 elephants feeding close to Pride Rock A herd of about 100 buffaloes grazing next to 2/3 cutline Monday 3 June 2013 5 Lionesses and 8 cubs resting close to Xinzele rd 10 Buffaloes grazing at Shangana rd A herd of 200 buffaloes resting next to Ndulamithi […]


Big 5 safari sightings 28 April – 4 May 2013

Sunday 28 April 2013 2 Male leopards ( Tintake chasing Juma ) having a territorial dispute close to Kudu dam A breeding herd of 30 elephants feeding close to Pondoro main rd 1 Male leopard resting in tree  on main rd east – unknown male 2 White rhino bulls playing Monday 29 April 2013 1 […]


Big 5 safari sightings 21 – 27 April 2013

Sunday 21 April 2013 1 White rhino bull grazing 1 Male leopard ( Chavaluthu ) resting Monday 22 April 2013 No Drive Tuesday 23 April 2013 3 Male lions resting next to Top rd A herd of 250 buffaloes feeding close to Huppel rd A breeding herd of about 20 elephants feeding next to Impalabos […]


Big 5 safari sightings 14 – 20 April 2013

Sunday 14 April 2013 3 Lionesses and 8 cubs on a wildebeest kill at Pump rd 2 White rhino bulls feeding A breeding herd of 20 elephants feeding close to Main rd east 1 Elephant bull feeding next to Nyari dam Monday 15 April 2013 3 Lionesses and 8 cubs feeding on the wildebeest kill […]