Blog: Safari Lodge South Africa

WEEK IN PICTURES 3-7 APRIL ’17

FIRST EDITION OF WEEK IN PICTURES #1 This marks the first edition of the week in pictures. The aim of week in pictures is too look back at the sightings we’ve had during the course of the week and highlight those we (Guides and Trackers) enjoyed just as much as the Pondoro guests. Africa is […]


Weekly sightings 12 until 18 July 2015

Sunday 12 July 2015 1 Black rhino bull at Wambu rd 6 Lions at Hongonyi rd A herd of 20 buffaloes at Xindzele rd A herd of 20 elephants at Olifants rd A lion pride at Xindzele rd 2 White rhino bulls A breeding herd of 40 elephants at Rome 2 1 Buffalo bull at […]


Big 5 safari sightings 5 until 11 July 2015

Sunday 5 July 2015 1 White rhino bull 2 White rhino bulls A herd of 250 buffaloes at Xigalana dam A breeding herd of 15 elephants at Xiingwana rd A herd of 250 buffaloes at Shortcut 2 White rhino bulls 2 White rhino bulls 6 Lions west of Peter’s rock A herd of 200 buffaloes […]


Big 5 safari sightings 28 June until 4 July 2015

Sunday 28 June 2015 A pride of 13 lions at River lodge main A herd of 30 elephants at River Lodge main 4 White rhinos A herd of 300 buffaloes at York/Nonwane cutline A breeding herd of 15 elephants at Pondoro main rd Monday 29 June 2015 6 Lions feeding on a wildebeest kill at […]


Big 5 safari sightings 17 until 23 May 2015

Sunday 17 May 2015 2 White rhino bulls 1 Male leopard ( Watsakile ) at Mañana rd A herd of 250 buffaloes at Nyari dam Monday 18 May 2015 2 White rhino bulls 5 Elephant bulls at Impala dam A female leopard at Nonwane A lion and lioness near Billy’s lodge Tuesday 19 May 2015 […]


Big 5 safari sightings 10 until 16 May 2015

Sunday 10 May 2015 A herd of 20 elephants at Nsuna rd 1 Male lion at Pondoro Main rd A male leopard, Watsakile, at Pondoro Main rd 2 Young male lions at Nkhorho rd Monday 11 May 2015 A herd of 100 buffaloes at Kudu rd 1 Male lion at Nkombe north A herd of […]


Big 5 safari sightings 3 until 9 May 2015

Sunday 3 May 2015 1 Female leopard at Bateleur camp 1 White rhino bull A pride of 12 lions feeding on a kudu at Winston rd A breeding herd of 15 elephants at Xinzele rd A herd of 100 buffaloes at Kahle stelle rd Monday 4 May 2015 A pride of 12 lions at Tranken […]


Big 5 safari sightings 26 April until 2 May 2015

Sunday 26 April 2015 A breeding herd of 25 elephants at the Wormhole 1 Elephant bull at Saseka rd A breeding herd of 20 elephants at Koppie rd 6 Lions at Mandleve rd A herd of 30 elephants at Gamma rd Lion pride at 1,7rd 4 Elephant bulls at Bateleur camp Monday 27 April 2015 […]


Big 5 safari sightings 19 until 25 April 2015

Sunday 19 April 2015 1 Lioness and 6 subadult lions drinking water at Robbie’s dam 2 Elephant bulls at Piva rd A herd of 300 buffaloes at River lodge main Monday 20 April 2015 A breeding herd of 20 elephants at Ngala dam Tuesday 21 April 2014 3 Buffalo bulls at Xibambu loop 1 Elephant […]


Big 5 safari sightings 12 until 18 April 2015

Sunday 12 April 2015 A male cheetah at Duke’s clearing A breeding herd of elephants at Tshukudu cutline A herd of 200 buffaloes at Mamba rd A herd of 40 elephants at Nsuna rd 2 Buffalos drinking water at noun rd A herd of 15 elephants at Shangana rd Monday 13 April 2015 A herd […]


Big 5 safari sightings 5 until 11 April 2015

Sunday 5 April 2015 A breeding herd of 80 elephants at Nsuna rd A herd of 250 buffaloes at Makoti rd A male lion and 3 females at Billy’s lodge Monday 6 April 2015 A breeding herd of 15 elephants at 8/9 cutline A black rhino bull Saw a male leopard ( Chavaluthu ) catching […]


Big 5 safari sightings 29 March until 4 April 2015

Sunday 29 March 2015 6 Lions at Derde weg A herd of 60 buffaloes at Chavaluthu rd A breeding herd of 20 elephants at Xidulu rd with a cow giving birth A herd of 250 buffaloes at Mangwa clearing Monday 30 March 2015 Elephant cow and 1 day old calf at Tranken weg An elephant […]


Big 5 safari sightings 22 until 28 March 2015

Sunday 22 March 2015 A male leopard ( Chavaluthu ) at Impala dam 6 Lions at a zebra kill close to Kahle Stelle rd 3 Hyenas at Mhisi Kaya close to Rhulani’s rd A male cheetah at Duke’s clearing A hyena close to zebra kill 2 Buffaloes at Ngwenya dam 3 Elephant bulls at Xigamba […]


Big 5 safari sightings 15 until 21 March 2015

Sunday 15 March 2015 Mohlabetsi lion pride, 3 lionesses and 7 cubs at Mohlabetsi/Hearne cutline A herd of 200 buffaloes at 4/5 cutline Monday 16 March 2015 No safari drive Tuesday 17 March 2015 3 Lionesses and 10 cubs at Derde weg 3 Elephant bulls at Mañana rd Wednesday 18 March 2015 A male lion […]